Tuesday, August 11, 2015

School of Public Health has Five Honorees for Beth Wood Distinguished Service-Learning Faculty Award

The Service Learning Program at IU's Center for Innovative Teaching and Learning recently announced the recipients of the Beth Wood Distinguished Service-Learning Faculty Award. This award is given each academic year to honor Beth Wood, who taught service-learning public relations courses in the School of Journalism until she lost her battle with cancer in November 2009. 

The award is given to faculty who demonstrate excellent service-learning practices in the areas of teaching pedagogically strong and mutually beneficial service-learning classes, participating in Service-Learning Program events, and raising visibility of service-learning on and off campus.

This year there were 11 recipients of the award across the campus. The School of Public Health is proud to be the most represented school with 5 recipients. The recipients from the School of Public Health include Jared Allsop, Janet Delong, Rasul Mowatt, Jennifer Piatt, and Krisha Thiagarajah. Additional recipients were from Apparel Merchandising and Design: Ashley Hasty, from Psychological and Brain Sciences: Linda Hoke Sinex, from School of Informatics and Computing: Matt Hottell and Charles Pope, from International Studies: Olga Kalentzidou, and from School of Business: Benjamin Schultz

Congratulations to all recipients!